Book Review: I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

“I gave up practically the whole world for you,” I tell him, walking through the front door of my own love story. “The sun, stars, ocean, trees, everything, I gave it all up for you.”

– Jandy Nelson, I’ll Give You the Sun

SYNOPSIS

From the critically acclaimed author of The Sky Is Everywhere, a radiant novel that will leave you laughing and crying – all at once. For fans of John Green, Gayle Forman and Lauren Oliver.

 Jude and her twin Noah were incredibly close – until a tragedy drove them apart, and now they are barely speaking. Then Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy as well as a captivating new mentor, both of whom may just need her as much as she needs them. What the twins don’t realize is that each of them has only half the story and if they can just find their way back to one another, they have a chance to remake their world.

9781406326499 I'll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

 

REVIEW

When the copy of I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson appeared in my letterbox I was both excited and terrified of starting it; I had heard SO many great things about it that I was sure it couldn’t possibly live up to the hype. I found the first 50-80 pages a little slow and then the end of the book appeared and it was all over! At some point I connected with the story and didn’t look back… I couldn’t get enough!

Thirteen-year-old twins Noah and Jude couldn’t be more different. Noah is socially awkward and hides in his art and Jude is that girl: bright, bubbly and the centre of everyone’s attention. At fourteen, a series of events lead to one tragic moment that fractures their relationship. The story flits between the current timeline of each twin while also flashing back to show the reader how they got there. Both Noah and Jude have their demons, secrets and regrets all stemming from a natural competitiveness that eventually tore them apart.

Whether or not you believe in fate, kismet, or serendipity, life has a way of moving in circles, always coming back to a point where everything comes together. There were two things about this book that I loved the most – the way Nelson told the story and brought all the pieces together and one of the characters she introduces mid-way through the book. Guillermo was the highlight of the story. Whilst he represents the stereotypical tortured artist, his pain felt real. Every tantrum he threw and every snarky comment he made was loaded with emotion; I loved what he bought to the story and the role he played in it all. All of Nelson’s characters are vividly described but Guillermo left the lasting impression.

Did I’ll Give You the Sun live up to my high expectations? I am very happy to say that it did. There was just so much to like – the characters, the setting and the topics: family, love, sexuality, sex, and art – what more could you want?!

AUTHOR: Jandy Nelson

ISBN: 9781406326499

PUBLISHER: Walker Books Australia

RRP: $17.95

PUB DATE: 1 June 2015

 

Thank you to Walker Books Australia for sending me a reading copy in exchange for an honest review!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s